HOBIE 16 SA Nationals 2012

We had 40 boats – were hoping to have in excess of 50 which wasn't unrealistic given that we had 50 in Mossel Bay last year and there were no Durban boats and one PE boat – we had representation from all round the country.

19 boats from Jhb

6 boats from WP

3 boats from Durban

2 boats from East London

6 boats from PE

4 boats from Plett/Knysna

All in all the 2012 Boardwalk Hobie 16's Nationals was a fantastic event, we had wind from all points of the compass and everything from 3 knots to 38 knots so it was a bit of everything. We were fortunate to get SEBAGO on board together with Hobie SA as sponsors of the TV production for SuperSport – as soon as we have these dates we will let you have them.

The racing went down to the wire, we had one race on Friday which started in 20-25 knots and on the final lap the breeze filled in at 30 knots gusting more at times, Saturday we had an early start with boats battling to get across the start line after 10min race was abandoned and all sent back to shore – a light NW filled in around 14:00 and two races were sailed in very switchy/tricky conditions – at this stage the Dodds team had put their mark on the regatta with 3 wins.

Sunday morning dawned a fantastic day but the forecast was not great, all were patient until the fleet was called out at around 14:30 after a light S had filled in – one race was sailed, finally on Monday, the forecast was for good breeze out of the NW 20-25 knots – this meant an early start – first race was sailed in very light dying breeze with only 13 boats making the time limit – the rest were stranded on the course – once again the fleet was sent to shore and after about an hour a more promising breeze filled – 2 further races were sailed in 12-18 knots with quite a choppy sea. What turned out to be the last race after the breeze started dying away again saw the Dodds & Ward team out in front with the Lawrence's in 3rd with a comfortable lead over the rest of the fleet, with the results in that sequence and no further racing the Dodds team would regain the title, the Lawrence team rounded the bottom mark and opted to tack inshore – without covering them they jumped from a distant 3rd to a very comfortable lead and with that secured the double with a back to back title following their success in Mossel Bay last year.

The great news that was announced during this event is that we have secured sponsorship and the event and the Hobie 16 Nationals will be held in PE for the next 3 years with thanks to The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment Complex and Sebago for coming on board – this is fantastic news for Hobie Cat and sailing in general and we really hope to build on this and grow this event over the next three years !!!!

Andrew Ward

1st Place: Allan and Daniel Lawrence 2nd Place: Blaine and Roxanne Dodds 3rd Place: William and Lucinda Edwards 4th Place: Andrew and Angela Ward 5th Place: Peter and Dyland Swales

Port Elizabeth 27 April to 30 April

Overall

Sailed: 7, Discards: 1, To count: 6, Entries: 40, Scoring system: Appendix A

Rank	Tally	BowNumber	SailNo	Club	HelmName	CrewName	R1	R2	R3	R4	R5	R6	R7	Nett
1st	33	33	33	FHBSC	Allan Lawrence	Daniel Lawrence	4.0	2.0	(6.0)	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	10.0
2nd	3	3	818	KYC	Blaine Dodds	Roxanne Dodds	1.0	1.0	1.0	(6.0)	5.0	2.0	2.0	12.0
3rd	6	6	1001	KYC	William Edwards	Lucinda Edwards	3.0	4.0	5.0	3.0	2.0	3.0	(6.0)	20.0
														1

4th	40	40	91091	ABYC	Andrew Ward	Angela Ward	2.0	9.0	8.0	2.0	(41.0 DNF)	4.0	3.0	28.0
5th	34	34	109102	ELYC	Peter Swales	Dylan Swales	5.0	11.0	(19.0)	4.0	4.0	7.0	8.0	39.0
6th	28	28	54		Andrew Young	Pippa Edwards	11.0	3.0	10.0	(12.0)	7.0	8.0	5.0	44.0
7th	38	38	91067		Craig Teasdale	Mark Teasdale	9.0	16.0	3.0	5.0	(41.0 DNF)	5.0	7.0	45.0
8th	2	2	101	KYC	Douglas Edwards	Katya Dando	13.0	12.0	2.0	8.0	3.0	16.0	(19.0)	54.0
9th	32	32	109132	TCC	Belinda Hayward	Grant Hayward	7.0	17.0	9.0	13.0	(41.0 DNF)	6.0	12.0	64.0
10th	31	31	111313	TCC	Brent Hayward	Tyronne Hammick	14.0	10.0	15.0	11.0	9.0	(17.0)	9.0	68.0
11th	50	50	111207	TCC	Simon Bonarius	Kyle Bowman	10.0	14.0	(18.0)	16.0	11.0	10.0	10.0	71.0
12th	18	18	109118	SYC	Mark Wijitenburg	Brandon Wijitenburg	(41.0 DNF)	5.0	4.0	9.0	41.0 RAF	12.0	4.0	75.0
13th	25	25	90851	KYC	Donald Brink	Anastasia	16.0	15.0	(24.0)	17.0	6.0	20.0	16.0	90.0
14th	10	10	108907	TSC	Klaas de Rooy	Nicolas Ryall	(41.0 DNF)	13.0	17.0	22.0	12.0	15.0	13.0	92.0
15th	12	12	112612	FHBSC	Michael Goodyear	Jennifer Goodyear	(41.0 DNF)	6.0	7.0	14.0	41.0 DNF	18.0	18.0	104.0
16th	30	30	107669	ABYC	John McGillivray	Paula Archibald	6.0	8.0	12.0	27.0	(41.0 DNF)	41.0 DNF	15.0	109.0
17th	7	7	1	LDYC	Andrew Fourie	Chad Bilsbury	(41.0 DNF)	20.0	14.0	29.0	8.0	24.0	17.0	112.0
18th	8	8	108651		Mark Kopel	Laura Ilgner	(41.0 DNF)	27.0	26.0	25.0	13.0	14.0	14.0	119.0
19th	36	36	108603		Rob Selig	Amy Selig	(41.0 DNF)	23.0	22.0	15.0	41.0 DNF	9.0	11.0	121.0
20th	24	24	90968	TCC	Mike Herald	Judith Herald	15.0	26.0	20.0	24.0	(41.0 DNF)	23.0	23.0	131.0
21st	15	15	91025	PYC	Sean Fennessy	Bart Fokkens	(41.0 DNF)	18.0	16.0	7.0	41.0 DNF	13.0	41.0 RAF	136.0
22nd	11	11	91029	PYC	Peter Hall	Sarah-Ann Hall	(41.0 DNF)	19.0	23.0	10.0	41.0 DNF	19.0	24.0	136.0
23rd	9	9	112489	FHBSC	John Ryall	Andrea Ryall	(41.0 DNF)	21.0	13.0	21.0	41.0 DNF	11.0	41.0 RAF	148.0
24th	17	17	109111	ABYC	Steve Arnold	Debbie Arnold	(41.0 DNF)	7.0	11.0	31.0	41.0 DNF	41.0 RAF	21.0	152.0
25th	21	21	106198	LYC	Wessel van der Merwe	Sisa Mphikiswa	8.0	32.0	35.0	30.0	(41.0 DNF)	22.0	26.0	153.0
26th	20	20	909	TSC	Gary Dix	Annelize Dix	(41.0 DNF)	25.0	21.0	19.0	10.0	41.0 OCS	41.0 DNC	157.0
27th	27	27	111335	BYC	Ewald Erasmus	Frances Levenderis	(41.0 DNF)	24.0	28.0	23.0	41.0 DNF	25.0	20.0	161.0
28th	14	14	90206		Daryl McWilliams	Josh Woolard	(41.0 DNF)	30.0	27.0	20.0	41.0 DNF	28.0	22.0	168.0
29th	19	19	73412	ELYC	Byron Ravenscroft	Martin Struwig	12.0	36.0	31.0	32.0	(41.0 DNF)	29.0	32.0	172.0
30th	23	23	90115	TCC	Robert Handley	Kira Wiles	(41.0 DNF)	28.0	29.0	28.0	41.0 DNF	21.0	25.0	172.0
31st	35	35	112937	LDYC	Dane Levenderis	Aubrey Molefe	(41.0 DNF)	22.0	30.0	26.0	41.0 DNF	27.0	31.0	177.0
32nd	16	16	90821	ABYC	Russell Morgan	Thea Pretorius	(41.0 DNF)	29.0	34.0	18.0	41.0 DNF	31.0	30.0	183.0
33rd	4	4	90507	PYC	Ed Page	Lorraine Duggan-Jones	(41.0 DNF)	31.0	25.0	35.0	41.0 DNF	26.0	27.0	185.0
34th	5	5	113095		Charles Girard	Michael Swanepoel	17.0	33.0	37.0	(41.0 DNC)	41.0 DNF	30.0	28.0	186.0
35th	39	39	90764	TCC	Japie Krynauw	Vanessa Krynauw	(41.0 DNS)	34.0	32.0	33.0	41.0 DNF	32.0	29.0	201.0
36th	22	22	75448	TCC	Hartmut Ilgner	Phillip Miller	(41.0 DNF)	35.0	33.0	37.0	41.0 DNF	33.0	34.0	213.0
37th	37	37	108783	SYC	Kobus Fourie	John Runciman	(41.0 DNF)	38.0	39.0	34.0	41.0 DNF	41.0 OCS	33.0	226.0
38th	26	26	111347	TCC	Charles Johnstone	Madelaine Marais	(41.0 DNF)	37.0	36.0	36.0	41.0 DNF	41.0 DNF	35.0	226.0
39th	1	1	91059	OYC	Chris Petersen	Anthony Pearson	(41.0 DNS)	39.0	38.0	41.0 DNF	41.0 DNF	41.0 DNF	36.0	236.0
40th	29	29	29433	LDYC	Ben Muller		(41.0 DNF)	41.0 DNC	41.0 DNC	41.0 DNC	41.0 DNF	41.0 DNF	41.0 RAF	246.0

Sailwave Scoring Software 2.02 build 3 www.sailwave.com